Cancer is getting increasingly common and will continue to be a major public health problem in Hong Kong. At present, about one in four persons in Hong Kong will develop cancer during their lifetime. At the time of publication, roughly eleven million people worldwide are diagnosed with cancer and nearly eight million people die from cancer each year.

While the incidence of cancer has been increasing, most cases of cancer are in fact preventable through changing our way of life, such as quitting smoking, modifying our diet, increasing the amount of exercise we take and maintaining a healthy body weight.

This publication provides information and recommendations on possible screening methods and early detection as well as prevention of common cancers in Hong Kong. It is by no means exhaustive but is intended to be a quick reference for health professionals. Due to limited space, references are not included. Given the rapid advancement of researches in various aspects of cancer prevention and screening, it is also important for us to keep in view the results from various on-going studies so as to update our knowledge and recommendations.

We are most grateful to our oncology colleagues who have shared with us their expertise in the preparation of this booklet. We are also greatly indebted to Mrs. Tammy Lee, Senior Education Officer of The Hong Kong Anti-Cancer Society, for her skilled assistance in co-ordinating the publication. Special thanks must be given to Ms Gloria Lau, Ms Freda Chan and Ms Shirley Lam who have helped to translate the text into Chinese.

We sincerely hope that health professionals will find this booklet useful. Let us join hands in fighting the battle against cancer – a disease which causes suffering for many and generates fear among even more.

Cancer Screening, Early Detection and Prevention Guidelines For Health Professionals

越來越多人患上癌症,預計日後這種疾病仍會是我們關注的健康問題。現時在香港,約四個人當中就有一人會在人生中經歷癌症。在這本書付印時,全球每年約有1千1百萬人證實患上癌症,約有8百萬人死於這種疾病。

雖然癌症的發病率不斷上升,但大部分癌症是可以預防的,只要我們改變生活習慣,例如戒煙、注意飲食、多做運動、將體重保持在健康水平,患上癌症的可能性就會大大降低。

這本書載列有關在香港進行的癌症普查、及早查驗和預防癌症的資料和建議,雖然內容算不上包羅萬有,但可方便醫護人員查考。由於篇幅所限,撰寫時參考的資料未能附錄 。再者,醫學發展日新月異,有關癌症預防和普查的研究常有突破,我們必須留意這些研究的結果,不能固步自封。

我們在編撰這本書時,承蒙多方面人士的協助, 特別是腫瘤科的同事提供專業意見和資料,並且得到香港防癌會高級教育主任李周翠娥女士籌劃,李劉佩驊女士、林綺文女士翻譯文稿,謹此致謝。

希望這本書能為醫護人員提供有用的資料。癌症令許多人蒙受痛苦,更令無數人擔驚受怕,醫護人員的工作任重道遠,就讓我們一起攜手,對抗癌症。

癌症的普查、探測與預防 給醫護同業的指引